2019 Fletcher Morrow Tournament


The 9th annual match between Ballarat Chess Club and Geelong Chess Club was held in Geelong on Sunday 11th August over 10 boards, with 2 reserve boards. Geelong heavily out rated us on every board, and so the final result (a win for Geelong 7.5-2.5), while disappointing, was hardly surprising.

Board 1 Michael Sugrue 1870 (Geelong) – Bas van Riel 1690 (Ballarat) 1-0
Board 2 Rodney Jacobs 1670 (Ballarat) – Alistair Anderson 1852 (Geelong) 0-1
Board 3 Rodel Sicat 1850 (Geelong) – Rob Loveband 1618 (Ballarat) 0-1
Board 4 Ruari Coffey 1610 (Ballarat) – Reza Daneshvar 1836 (Geelong) 0-1
Board 5 Mio Ristic 1656 (Geelong) – Patrick Cook 1553 (Ballarat) 1-0
Board 6 Harrison Harrison 1634 (Ballarat) – Geoffrey Barber 1641 (Geelong) 0-1
Board 7 Alex Leach 1600 (Geelong) – Kevin Perrin 1514 (Ballarat) 1-0
Board 8 Sean Macak 1269 (Ballarat) – Jack Smith 1524 (Geelong) 1/2-1/2
Board 9 Rod Hessing 1523 (Geelong) – Caitlin Barnett 1205 (Ballarat) 1-0
Board 10 Tom Oppenheim 1021 (Ballarat) – Owen Courtis 1454 (Geelong) 1-0
Board 11 Andrew Wemyss 1451 (Geelong) – Chantelle Barnett 975 (Ballarat) 1-0
Board 12 Jasan Barnett 913 (Ballarat) – Robert Dejanovic 1283 (Geelong) 1-0

This was Geelong's 4th Match win in a row, with the overall score now 6-2 with 1 tie in their favour.


Enter your games at Chessmicrobase

Ballarat Geelong Challenge

In 2011 we hosted Geelong Chess Club for Round 5 of the Victorian teams tournament, and at the suggestion of Geelong President Ben Kersten, a match of 10 boards, in the spirit of the famous 1925 and 1926 matches, was arranged, with the top 4 boards counting for the teams competition. Before play commenced, we were presented with a copy of Andrew Wemyss’ splendid history of Geelong Chess Club. The original Ballarat Geelong tournaments were held at the Mechanics' Institute. The revived tourney is being held annually and the teams vie for inscribing their name on the new Fletcher Morrow Shield, donated by Bill Stokie. A memorandum of understanding setting out guidelines for when and how the tournament will be run was signed in 2016 and is available for viewing here. To facilitate planning and room booking, it was decided that the second Sunday in August would be our regular tournament date.


Well done to Geelong.

All of the players that turned up for the day.

The six players that have participated in all 9 of the Fletcher-Morrow tournaments.
From left to right: (Back) Micheal Sugrue, Rodney Jacobs, Reza Daneshvar. (Front) Kevin Perrin, Patrick Cook, Rob Loveband.

Ruari vs Reza was the last game to finish, with minutes left on both sides.